Lilibet

A blue-eyed babe was born, on Bruton Street in Mayfair.

 No one knew that history would write another page there.

May twenty-first at two a.m. came forth her first decree,

“I’m Elizabeth Alexandra Mary, a Queen that’s yet to be.”

Her father was Prince Albert, the  Duke of York, then King.

Her mother was Elizabeth, of Scottish upbringing.

This little curly blonde haired girl astonished all she met.

A character by all accounts, reflective Lilibet.

Lilibet was crowned the Queen in nineteen fifty-three.

Elizabeth the Second reigns, Her diamond jubilee.

7 Comments

  1. jabbersville said,

    June 6, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    Fantastic poem 🙂

  2. June 6, 2012 at 8:32 am

    Lovely, a great take on this week’s prompt x

  3. Gilly Gee said,

    June 5, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    Just brilliant and relaxed fun too, the sort of poetry I can enjoy!

  4. jfb57 said,

    June 5, 2012 at 7:55 am

    Brilliant! I so love Lilibet too. I remember when I was a girl thinking have fabulous it was to have such. A name. Thanks you for taking up this Diamond challenge!

    • Prosing On said,

      June 5, 2012 at 8:18 am

      When I saw the name Lilibet, I imagined a little kid trying to pronounce Elizabeth! When I became Auntie Angel, my nephews and nieces had a hard time with Angel. I was called Jayjo, Ayo, Anjo and everything inbetween. To this day I’m affectionately called Auntie Anjo and I wouldn’t trade that with the correct pronunciation for the world.


Leave a Reply

