I, Ruby

Here’s my offering for the 100 Word Challenge prompt “Ruby”.

I hate my name.  Who, but my mom, would name their kid after a piece of jewelry?  I mean, when was the last time you met anyone name emerald, or sapphire or diamond.  Ruby is a stupid name.  I guess I’m lucky, Mom could have named me after vegetables like spinach, or broccoli or….brussel sprout!  When I have kids I’m going to name them after bugs.  “Good morning Earthworm, are you ready for a diaper change?” or “Mosquito don’t forget your lunchbox!”    That’ll teach her.  When Mom asks me why I called her grandkids after bugs I’ll say “Because I like bugs Gramma Ruby!”

17 Comments

  1. jfb57 said,

    May 8, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    It is so sad that we can’t choose our own names. I’m sure we would all be called something different than we are! Lovely to see you on 100WCGU!

    • prosingon said,

      May 9, 2012 at 6:31 am

      Thanks Julia. I happen to like my first name, it’s
      Angelique. When I was thinking of what to write for the prompt Ruby, this child’s protest just played out in my mind!

  2. snagglewordz said,

    May 6, 2012 at 12:14 am

    Hahahaha! Nice one, I’m keen to meet a kid called “Earthworm” now.

    • prosingon said,

      May 6, 2012 at 7:34 am

      Thanks Snaggle! If there is a kid out there with that name it’s probably Frank Zappa’s kid! heeheehee

      • snagglewordz said,

        May 6, 2012 at 11:55 pm

        Lol, or maybe Chris Martin and Gwyneth Paltrow…seems like an Earthworm could potentially compliment an Apple. Oh wait, Caterpillar might be more appropriate.

  3. May 4, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    this made me laugh 😛 x

    • prosingon said,

      May 4, 2012 at 4:06 pm

      Yaaa, my work is done. Thanks for taking the time to comment Jenny!

  4. May 4, 2012 at 10:12 am

    This made me laugh a little, very cleverly done. x

    • prosingon said,

      May 4, 2012 at 10:25 am

      Thanks Susan. Second only to writing, making people laugh is my very favorite thing.

  5. Sandra said,

    May 4, 2012 at 1:07 am

    The name Ruby conjures up Ruby Murray to me, a moist-eyed Irish songstress from my childhood. And despite the efforts of the Stones and Ms Wax, it still remains an old fashioned name for me. So I could identify with the sentiments of your clever piece. Nice one.

    • prosingon said,

      May 4, 2012 at 9:41 am

      Sandra, Thanks for taking the time to comment with such encouraging words. Pardon my ignorance, Ms. Wax?

  6. May 2, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    cute – and very humorous …
    I didn’t want to read anyone’s submission until I had posted mine because I didn’t want to be influenced. I’m glad I waited. I may have changed my entry. I had a very different approach. Hope you enjoy it.
    Thanks,
    Isadora
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/ruby/

    • prosingon said,

      May 2, 2012 at 1:09 pm

      Thanks Isadora (great name, sounds mediaeval)! This is the second time I tried the challenge and both times I didn’t read the others first either. I’m glad you got the humor, it seems some people thought it was real and not fictional. I did read you posting and commented there.

  7. Rachel Selby said,

    May 2, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    I agree, you either love it or hate it. It’s becoming very popular again so obviously many ppl love it. Re bugs, Caterpillar and Butterfly are quite cute. Bumblebee and Ladybug (or Ladybird as we say) wouldn’t be too bad either. ;~)

    • prosingon said,

      May 2, 2012 at 12:42 pm

      This is a work of fiction. I don’t dislike the name Ruby. I thought about the prompt for an hour or so and this funny short story just came to me. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

  8. May 2, 2012 at 11:29 am

    Ruby is probably one of those names that you love or hate. The 100wc is a great way to try new types of writing. The idea of naming children after bugs made me smile!

    • prosingon said,

      May 2, 2012 at 11:34 am

      I enjoy these challenges alot. I like to flex the old gray matter! It was meant to be read from the mind of a child of arouned 10. I actually like the name myself. Thanks for reading!


Leave a Reply

