Forbidden Doll Carriage

The prompt for this 100 Word Challenge is “…I’m exhausted. Close the door behind you…”

Here is my offering, taken from a dream I had as a five or six-year-old girl, who was sick of her big sister not sharing:
     “Mom!” I screeched, crashing through the back door.     “Angel, I’m exhausted. Shut the door behind you,” said my mother of seven.     “Mom, Helena wouldn’t let me push her doll carriage. We went to Clancy’s to buy candy with the nickels you gave us. I was mad so I wished a giant would come and take her away. All of a sudden the floor started shaking. Helena ran outside to see what it was. I told her not to go. Then I saw a huge giant hand reach down and grab her. All I could think to say was, ‘Wait, you forgot her doll carriage!’ I’m sorry mommy!”

3 Comments

  1. sjbwriting said,

    April 29, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    What an awful nightmare for a younf child. As Julia says, no wonder it has stayed with you all your life.

  2. jfb57 said,

    April 29, 2012 at 10:12 am

    Well that was quite a dream & I’m not surprised it stayed with you! did your sister appreciate your concern about the pram?!!

    • prosingon said,

      April 29, 2012 at 10:21 am

      Thanks for reading my post JFB. The dream is longer than the 100 word challenge allows. It was very real to me at the time, the sounds, smells, the other patrons in the store. It sure taught me the old “careful what you wish for” lesson. My big sis and I are in our late fifties now and since she is a mother, let’s just say that she learned about sharing. I’d like to say sorry to everyone for linking this to the wrong challenge! As Maya Angelou says, “When we know better, we do better!”


Leave a Reply

